British Folk Art: Yes, we have crop circles.

A few weeks ago, in one of my collections of random links posts, I mentioned a new British Folk Art exhibition currently running at the Tate gallery. I got tipped off to it by the assembled meeja dahlings on Radio 4. They were ooh-ing and ahh-ing in a ‘weren’t our ancestors bonkers for making quaint Folk Art’ kind of way. Anyhoo, I mused in an electronic format whether future folk art exhibitions would feature the relatively modern folk art of crop circles.

A day or so later, Dr. Rob Irving swooped in to pull me from the darkness of ignorance into the light of knowing by telling me that a few years ago Jeremy Deller’s ‘Folk Archive’ exhibition actually did feature some aerial images of the Julia Set and other formations created by Team Satan/Circlemakers.org. Dr. Irving provided me with a handy link (which features a wonderful discourse on circlemaking as art and is a really enjoyable read), which I gladly pass on to your good selves for your perusal and appreciation.

http://oldweirdalbion.wordpress.com/2010/05/11/crop-circles-the-artistic-view/

Leave a Reply

